There is nothing as filling in your belly as a plate or bowl of beans and rice. It does not matter what kind of beans, nor what type of rice, it just plain taste good.

I have a rice cooker. One of the best investments I have made.

I just put two cups of brown rice, two bouillon cubes, fill water in rice cooker to line 2 and add 1/2 cup of extra water ( brown rice needs more liquid), close lid, push the brown rice  button, and in a couple of hours I have fresh rice.

I also have a pressure cooker. Mine is small, but not the smallest. I have had mine around 10 years.

Last night I took 1 pound of dried beans and sorted through them to get the rocks out. Put them in a bowl and filled it up with water.

Today I rinsed the beans several times. Put them in pressure cooker, along with 2 TBS of onion powder, 2 TBS of olive oil, and 4 bouillon cubes. Filled the cooker with water up to the line. Cut the stove on high. When the knob on top of the pressure cooker starts rocking, cut the burner down to medium and let cook for 30 minutes.

Nothing better in the world.

See the results

Add homemade bread like this

Put it all together

Enjoyed every bite

